Quick Stats

Quick Stats

    You are here

    A Beer By Any Other Name Would Taste As Sweet

    New "beer" contains no malt or hops, but is it still a beer?

    Milwaukee-based Lakefront Brewery has released a new drink being marketed as beer that contains no gluten, a protein found in most grains. The gluten-free beer is intended for those estimated 3 million people suffering gluten intolerance, called celiac disease, the Appleton Post-Crescent reported.

    Because gluten is present in many grains -- barley, wheat, oats, and rye -- people with celiac disease cannot ingest products made from grains. Most malt beverages are made from some type of grain, so sufferers cannot enjoy the taste of beer or spirits, the newspaper stated.

    Lakefront has developed the beer, called "New Grist Beer," made from sorghum and rice, both of which lack the gluten proteins in their grains. The taste of the beer is more like a cider, according to the Appleton Post-Crescent's Beer Man. He stated that although it is technically a beer, because it is fermented from grain, it tastes fruity, with no malt or hops flavor. He added that the golden-colored beer is sweet, although he recommended that the brewer add some fruit, herbs or spices and market it as a "grain-based beverage."

    • About

    Related Content

    Related Content